top of page
  • Writer's picturenataliapleshko

Lucky Diva Wrap

Updated: Nov 29, 2022

The pattern for a crochet scarf or shawl


I’m not a big planner in my crafting journey. I know some people have a list of patterns that they want to make, and when they finish one thing, they already know what will be the next. Or some do several projects at a time. I’m not that kind of person. Often I’m very spontaneous in my knitting or crocheting, and the same with designing too.
Something can trigger an idea, and here you go, I’m diving into an idea in full swing.
Often the design idea comes from the yarn. This happened with this pattern Lucky Diva Wrap.
I was at one of the local stores around Charlotte Cheers To Ewe, and grabbed one skein of sparkling yarn Hand Dyed Diva Sparkly Sport, this is 76% superwash merino/rambouillet wool and 24% stellina, which adds the sparkle to the yarn.
First, I was thinking to do some small project. But as I started working and testing different stitch patterns, I liked the stellina sparkle, the softness of merino wool, and the fun color, and I decided that yarn needs more show-off than just a small project, so here you go. I went back to Cheers To Ewe for more yarn.
It was summertime and I wanted to make something light and airy. So I turned my search into crochet lacy stitch patterns, and after I found the perfect 2 stitch patterns I began to make the shawl/wrap.
The color name is Lady Luck and the brand name of this yarn is Hand Dyed Diva, so I mix them together and give the pattern the name Lucky Diva Wrap.
The wrap is worked in two separate sections, from each tip of the wrap, and then connected together in the middle. Working the wrap this way I covered here 2 problems:
First, if you look at the shell stitch pattern, you can always see the top and bottom of it. So, if we go only in one direction from one side of the wrap to the opposite side, half of the project will look upside down. Don’t want it here.
Second, you can use your yarn up to the max, almost up to the last inch. You don’t need to measure the amount of yarn if you’ll have enough for the second half of the wrap. Just work from two opposite sides using 1 skein for each side and meet in the middle.
The pattern gives you instructions on where and how to pay attention to yarn usage if you want to do any changes to the pattern.
The pattern is written with US crochet terminology.
It is fully written and also has 2 charts for the main stitch patterns.
It was my first time including the chart to the crochet pattern, and it was a learning curve, on how I should do it and what software to use for it. I ended up using The Crochet Chart by Stitch Works Software.

Okay, want do you need to know to make the Lucky Diva Wrap:
A couple of simple stitches, chain (ch), single crochet (sc), and double crochet (dc). Also, you need to know how to do double treble crochet (dtr), this is the one with 3 yarn overs. Dtr won't use too often but you can't go without it.
What do you need to make the wrap:
Yarn: 630 yds (575 m) of Sport weight yarn.
Sample made with 2 skeins of Hand Dyed Diva Sparkly Sport, 316 yds (288 m)/100 g, 76% superwash merino/rambouillet wool, 24% stellina, color Lady Luck.
Hook: size G (4.5 mm)
I hope you like this pattern and will make a beautiful wrap for yourself or as a gift.

Here is the pattern
Please, if you’re sharing your finished projects on social media, tag me @natalia_yarncraft and use the hashtag #LuckyDivaWrap


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page