top of page
  • Writer's picturenataliapleshko

Never-ending Diamond Shawl

Updated: Nov 29, 2022

Beginner friendly pattern for a crochet shawl

Never-ending Diamond crochet Shawl
It was the beginning of September, and my kids already started the school year and sports activities, but we have plenty of warm days left. And decided to squeeze in the schedule one extra day at the ocean. The drive is about 3.5 hours and of course, I needed to have something to knit or crochet for a long ride.
I didn’t have any mindless work-in-progress projects for the road. So I needed to start something new. Found in one of the crochet books a stitch pattern that is easy to memorize. Grabbed the unknown yarn (it was gifted to me without labels) and just let the hook do the work.
The stitch pattern was easy and so addictive, that I wanted to make at least one more project with it.
easy crochet shawl Never-ending Diamond
After I finished a small shawlette with unknown yarn, I went to my favorite LYS Tangles Knitting on Main and grabbed a couple of skeins of Berroco Vintage yarn in solid color in comparison to the variegated shawlette.
berroco vintage yarn, Never-ending Diamond Shawl
The idea for the pattern starts to form and includes this:
- the stitch pattern is simple, easy to memorize
- stitch pattern works the way that it is easy to make increases as often as you can, so the size of the project is customizable
- I already made 1 project with one yarn weight and can see how it will look with a different yarn thickness
- it looks good almost in any color
- I love projects when you can use the yarn up to the max and here we can crochet until running almost out of yarn
So the pattern for a shawl that can use different yarn weights and make the shawl as big as you want was born. I even got the name for it right away Never-ending Diamond Shawl.
Never-ending Diamond Shawl, crochet pattern
The pattern is written for the worsted weight yarn, but it is just starting point. I can't write the pattern without specific yarn references but the main idea for Never-ending Diamond Shawl is to use any kind of yarn and make the size as big as you want.
I was a little bit nervous to open the test call for this pattern and tell people to use whatever yarn they wanted and make any size. Usually, tests are more strict about sizes and yarn weight. But the test didn’t disappoint me. People used fingering, sport, DK, and worsted weight yarns. The color choice was also interesting, variegated and solid, and ombre. Sizes were made from small shawlettes to the full body covered shawls.
I was happy that my idea to create a very versatile pattern worked great.

Never-ending Diamond Shawl is a beginner friendly triangular crochet shawl that works bottom up. You’ll start at the bottom tip and will be constantly increasing. The stitch pattern is only 3 rows of repetition and gives you the opportunity to stop almost at any point of your project, just remember that the wingspan of your shawl will be about twice big as the size of the shawl at the deepest point.
Never-ending Diamond Shawl, triangular crochet shawl
The pattern is fully written but I give you also the chart. I think for many crochet projects charts represent patterns in a better way. And I try to include charts as much as possible, so people with different preferences (text vs charts) can enjoy my patterns.

Okay, want do you need to know to make the Never-ending Diamond Shawl:
Just a couple of simple stitches, chain (ch), single crochet (sc), half double crochet (hdc), and double crochet (dc).
What do you need to make the shawl:
Yarn: whatever yarn you like, in a range between fingering to worsted weight will be great.
Sample made with 3 skeins of Berroco Vintage 220 yds (200 m)/100 gram, color 51123 Verde.
Hook: corresponding hook to your yarn, approximately for
fingering weight yarn you’ll need size D (3.25 mm) - E (3.5 mm),
sport weight - F (3.75 mm) - G (4.25 mm),
DK weight - 7 (4.5 mm) - H (5 mm),
worsted weight - J (6 mm) - K (6.5 mm),
sample made with size K (6.5 mm).
Never-ending Diamond Shawl, beginner friendly pattern
I would love to see all your different creations using this pattern, please add projects to Ravelry. It will also help others to choose yarn, size, and maybe colors.

Here is the pattern

Please, if you’re sharing your finished projects on social media, tag me @natalia_yarncraft and use the hashtag #NeverendingDiamondShawl

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page