top of page
  • Writer's picturenataliapleshko

Stratus Collection

Updated: Nov 30, 2022

Free knit headband pattern and matching fingerless gloves:


This small collection began very spontaneously. I was working on my first pattern Flame Shawl with pockets, that I really wanted to publish. But it was unknown territory for me how to set up a Ravelry store, how to put everything that needed to download the pattern. So I decided to make a small project, to test everything before I actually put Flame shawl to the public.

Many years ago I knitted several mittens and gloves with simple stockinette stitch and extra texture stitch on the backside of the hand. And a little bit to simplify the process I decided to make fingerless mitts.
Stratus Fingerless mitts made with Marblesque yarn by Yarn Bee yarns
I made first prototype with the yarn from my stash Yarn Bee Marblesque, and then I find out that this yarn is already discontinued. So I run to LYS (my happy place Tangles Knitting on Main) and find super soft and fluffy yarn Stratus by Juniper Moon Farm.
Can you guess how I got the name for the mitts? I’m not very creative in naming things, so the fingerless mitts just got the name from the yarn.
Stratus Fingerless mitts made with Stratus yarn by Juniper Moon Farm
The mittens are knitted with 2x2 ribbing for a cuff, top, and thumb, the stockinette stitch is on a palm and the broken rib is on the backside of a hand.
To make Stratus Fingerless Mitts you’ll need to know how to knit in the round. The pattern doesn’t specify how to divide stitches between needles for knitting in the round in small circumference. Just choose your preferred style (4 DPNs, 5 DPNs, magic loop, or 2 circulars) and dived stitches as you usually do for this type of knitting.
The pattern uses right (RLI) and left (LLI) lifted increases. You can find video tutorials from Very Pink Knits, or use other types of increases like Kfb, or M1R/M1L. I recommended in the pattern to use sewn bind off, again great tutorial from Very Pink Knits, or you can use another stretchy bind off that you like.

Here is the pattern

A couple of months later after Stratus Fingerless Mitts were published in the time of Thanksgiving I added a free pattern Stratus Headband to the store as my thank you to all who inspired me to publish my patterns and supported all released patterns.
Free pattern Stratus Headband in Marblesque yarn by Yarn Bee yarns
Stratus Headband is an easy beginner friendly knit pattern of a headband with a twist. It uses the same broken rib stitch pattern as the Stratus Fingerless Mitts.
You only need to know how to knit, purl, slip stitch and knit through the back loop. It has a photo tutorial on how to do a twist. The pattern described 3 sizes. I made it with Yarn Bee Marblesque yarn but you can use any worsted weight yarn.
Super easy, fun to make, great as a gift or make to donate.
I’m so glad to see more and more finished projects popping on Ravelry and people enjoying making it.

Here is the pattern

Please if you’re sharing your finished projects on social media use hashtags for the headband #StratusHeadband or for the mitts #StratusFingerlessMitts and tag me @natalia_yarncraft
67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page