top of page
  • Writer's picturenataliapleshko

Tweed on Tweed Scarf

Updated: Nov 29, 2022

The pattern for the modular crochet scarf


Tweed on tweed scarf modular crochet
The idea for the pattern Tweed on Tweed Scarf was simple, transfer the knit version Reptile Scale Scarf into crochet. Here’s the full blog post about the knit version of this modular scarf.

I like the modular knitting technique and wanted to show that it is also possible to use the modular principle in crocheting.
What is actually modular technique? It’s a technique that creates a fabric out of several modules or elements. But you don’t need to finish individual pieces and then sew them together like for example, you’ll do with granny squares. With modular crochet, the elements are joined together by starting the next element on the edges of the previous element. So, you build your project one by one element and connect them to each other as you progress with the project.
Individual elements can be different shapes, squares, rectangles, rhombi, triangles, etc.
For the Tweed on Tweed Scarf, I used triangular elements. An interesting thing, when triangle elements are connecting to each other, they form shell shapes.
For the stitch pattern, I played a little bit and choose a seed stitch, or moss stitch, you can also find this stitch pattern under the tweed stitch name. And because the yarn was also a little bit tweedy, I choose the name for the pattern Tweed on Tweed Scarf.
modular crochet seed stitch
Here’s a little story about chosen yarn for the sample. After I settled the idea of the pattern in my head, I started stash digging to find a suitable yarn. I had this beautiful 2 skeins of Knit One, Crochet Too Kettle Tweed in color 4260 Variant Garden. And though it will be great for this project, I needed 2 skeins and I planned to work them up to the max.

Usually, when I start a project, especially a new design, I weigh the yarn at the beginning and weigh yarn at specific points, to know the used yardage. But this time I didn’t weigh the yarn at the beginning, don’t know why. The skeins were already winded into cakes and I just started to crochet. Imagine my surprise, when I weighed the yarn after I made the first layer (strip) of the scarf and find out that I had not the full two 100 g skeins but two balls that were 75 g each, so a total of 1.5 skeins. At this point, I don’t want to start it all over again, and just continue to work with what I had.
The lesson of the story, weigh your yarn before you start the project, in this case, you’ll definitely know how much yarn you have on hand, and you’ll know how to stretch it if you want to use it up to the last inch.
And second, this shows also how customizable this pattern can be. You can make the scarf longer or wider, whatever you like, just have enough yarn for the changes.
Tweed on tweed scarf modular crochet
Okay, want do you need to know to make the Tweed on Tweed Scarf:
A couple of simple stitches, like chain (ch), single crochet (sc), single crochet 2 together (sc2tog), and chainless foundation single crochet (fsc). I have a video tutorial on how to do fsc, check it out, if you need extra help.

What do you need to make the scarf:
Yarn: 700 yds (640 m) of multicolored fingering yarn if you want to make it as the pattern says. But I already told you, you can easily customize the project and go with a longer or wider scarf, in this case, you’ll need more yarn.
You can also change the yarn weight and go with Sport or DK weight, just choose the corresponding hook. Probably you’ll need fewer elements to make with thicker yarn, so you’ll finish the project faster.
Hook: size E (3.5 mm) if you choose a fingering weight yarn.

The pattern is written with US crochet terminology.
And to explain the modular technique more thoroughly, I also included a photo tutorial.

modular crochet tutorial
I hope you’ll give this crochet modular technique a try using the Tweed on Tweed Scarf pattern, and you’ll see how addictive this technique can be. “Just one more element…”
Tweed on tweed scarf modular crochet
Here is the pattern

Please, if you’re sharing your finished projects on social media, tag me @natalia_yarncraft and use the hashtag #TweedOnTweedScarf
16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page